George Washington’s Lessons On Parenthood

    Taken from WashingtonInn on Twitter

  • Comment from @scm15010 – I love the quotes about his mother!
  • George Washington referred to his mother as “revered mother” & “honored Madam”, in letters signing off as “Your most Dutiful & Obedient Son.”
  • George Washington’s cousin wrote, “I was often there with George…of (his) mother I was 10 times more afraid than I ever was of my own parents.”
  • She awed me in the midst of her kindness…even now I could not behold that remarkable woman without feelings it is impossible to describe.
  • “Whoever has seen that awe-inspiring air & manner so characteristic in the Father of his Country, will remember (his mother) as she appeared…”
  • George Washington’s mother: “the presiding genius of her well-ordered household, commanding & being obeyed.” Statement of GW’s cousin, Lawrence Washington
  • “My mother was the most beautiful woman I ever saw.” ~ George Washington
  • “All I am I owe to my mother. I attribute all my success in life to the moral, intellectual & physical education I received from her.” George Washington
  • http://twitpic.com/xcm2y – Joys & rewards of parenthood! Our son donned his “white coat” as a member of the USC School of Medicine Class of 2012
  • http://twitpic.com/xcm02 – Our son with the dean of the USC School of Medicine at his Pledge of Commitment Ceremony.
  • A wise son makes a glad father: but a foolish man despises his mother. Proverbs 15:20
Leave a Reply

